Stundenweg: from Monastery to Monastery, from Burgeis/Burgusio to Müstair

Cross borders and experience the meditative power of silence. The Stundenweg (hours’ trail) connects the Son Jon monastery in Müstair (Switzerland) and the Marienberg (Monte Maria) monastery in Burgeis/Burgusio, in the commune of Mals/Malles Venosta. The Stundenweg, or Senda Clastra, is a path that links one monastery to another, far removed from civilisation and the hustle and bustle of our everyday life, giving us a perfect opportunity to encounter our innermost self. The Stundenweg presents a diversity of cultures and landscapes, as well as beautiful views of the ancient upper Vinschgau/Val Venosta.
I recommend adopting an alternative attitude when tackling this path. Try to linger and take the pace and hurry out of our life. The Stundenweg makes a tangible appeal for the deceleration of a rhythm of life controlled by external forces and for the search for inner balance.

The path is demanding due to its length; sure-footedness is required at some exposed (though secured) sections. Information panels provide interesting facts on water and irrigation channeles, on language and borders, on the Battle of Calven and the rural lifestyle in this border region. The Stundenweg can be tackled via a number of different approaches (Müstair, Taufers/Tures, Laatsch/Laudes, Schleis/Clusio, Marienberg/Monte Maria Abbey) or as a circular hike. There are no places to stop for refreshment on the path. Sturdy footwear, rain protection and a valid identity card or passport (for the border crossing into Switzerland) are essential.

Advice: Because of the danger of falling rocks, the section from Müstair to Laatsch/Laudes is currently closed (April 2015). Only the section from Laatsch/Laudes to Burgeis/Burgusio (Marienberg/Monte Maria) is passable.

 

Info:

Route rating/description: challenging hike
Mountain range: Sesvennagruppe/Alpi Venoste Occidentali
Length: 18 km
Time: 5 hours
Highest point: 1532m
Elevation gain: 740m
Ideal time of year: May to October

Registration/Enquiry >>

Comments are closed.

Stundenweg: Von Kloster zu Kloster – Zwischen Burgeis und Müstair

Grenzen überschreiten und die meditative Kraft des Schweigens erleben: Der Stundenweg verbindet die beiden Klöster Son Jon in Müstair (Schweiz) mit Marienberg bei Burgeis, in der Gemeinde Mals im Vinschgau. Der Stundenweg, oder “Senda clastra” ist ein Weg von Kloster zu Kloster, fernab von Zivilisation und Hektik und bietet die Möglichkeit zur Begegnung mit sich selbst. Kulturhistorisch und landschaftlich vielfältig, bietet der Stundenweg einen schönen Blick auf die archaische Landschaft des oberen Vinschgau.
Ich empfehle, den Weg mit einer besonderen Haltung zu begehen. Versuchen wir zu verweilen, das Tempo und die Eile aus dem Leben zu nehmen. Der Stundenweg ist ein konkreter Aufruf zur Entschleunigung eines fremdgesteuerten Lebensrhythmus und zur Suche nach dem inneren Gleichgewicht.

Der Weg ist wegen seiner Länge anspruchsvoll und einige exponierte Stellen sind zwar gesichert, erfordern allerdings Trittsicherheit. Am Weg erklären Schautafeln Wissenswertes über Wasser und Waale, über Sprache und Landesgrenzen, die Schlacht an der Calven und das ländliche Leben in dieser Grenzregion. Der Stundenweg kann über verschiedene Zustiege (Müstair, Taufers, Laatsch, Schleis, Kloster Marienberg)  auch als Rundwanderung begangen werden. Am Weg finden wir keine Einkehrmöglichkeiten. Festes Schuhwerk, Regenschutz und gültige Personalausweise (für den Grenzübergang in die Schweiz) sind unbedingt erforderlich.

Hinweis: Wegen Steinschlaggefahr ist das Teilstück von Müstair nach Laatsch derzeit gesperrt (Stand: April 2015). Nur der Abschnitt von Laatsch nach Burgeis (Marienberg) ist begehbar.

 

Infoblock:

Schwierigkeitsgrad/Art: anspruchsvolle Wanderung
Gebirgsgruppe: Sesvennagruppe
Weglänge: 18 km
Gehzeit: 5.00 h
Höchster Punkt der Tour: 1532m
Höhenmeter Aufstieg: 740m
Ideale Jahreszeit: von Mai bis Oktober

Anmeldung/Anfrage >>

Comments are closed.